Faculty

Cantrell, AkiyoLecturer
Japanese Language
cantrell@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Chen, Shu-ChuanLecturer
Chinese Language
bellachen@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2234
Fleming, WilliamAssistant Professor
Japanese Literature, Comparative Literature, Theater Studies
wfleming@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2224
Frühstück, SabineKoichi Takashima Chair in Japanese Cultural Studies
Interim Director, Center for Taiwan Studies
fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2232
Goddard, Timothy UnverzagtVisiting Assistant Professor
Modern Japanese Literature, Comparative Literature, Japanese Cinema, Urban Studies
tug@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2216
By appointment
Guan, DaoxiongChinese Language & Chinese Classical Literatureguan@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2241
Hsu, Chen-Chuan (Jennifer)Lecturer & Chinese Language Program Coordinator
Chinese Language
hsu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2225
Hwang, SusanAssistant Professor
Modern Korean Literature, Korean Cultural Studies, Translation Studies, Theories of World Literature
shwang@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2256
Ikeuchi, Suma (池内須摩)Associate Professor
Pronoun: she/her
Migration & Diaspora Studies, Anthropology, Religious Studies, Ethnic Diversity in Transnational Japan
sikeuchi@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2254
On research leave, Spring & Fall 2022
Lee, WonaLecturer
Korean Language
wonalee@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2238
Wednesdays 12 -1:50pm
Li, XiaorongProfessor
Late Imperial (Ming-Qing) and Early Republican Chinese Literature
xiaorongli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2227
Mazanec, ThomasAssistant Professor
Medieval Chinese Literature, Buddhism, Comparative Literature, Digital Humanities, Translation
mazanec@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2255
Tues/Thurs, 11:00am–12:00pm, and by appointment
Pierce, KanaLecturer
Japanese Language
kpierce@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Tues/Wed 2:30-3:30pm, and by appointment
Rambelli, FabioProfessor
International Shinto Foundation Chair in Shinto Studies
Japanese Religions and Intellectual History, Buddhism, Shinto, Semiotics
rambelli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2258
Saltzman-Li, KatherineAssociate Professor
Japanese performing arts, literature, and folklore; comparative literature
ksaltzli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2237
Please check each quarter.
Steavu, DominicAssociate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies (EALCS)
Daoism and Chinese Buddhism
dsteavu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2253
Sturman, PeterChinese Painting and Calligraphy, Early to Modern; intersections of texts, theories, and imagessturman@arthistory.ucsb.edu
Tsai, BethVisiting Assistant Professor
Taiwan Cinema, Film Festivals, Transnational Film Theory
bethtsai@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2230
By Appointment Only
Tsuchiya, YukikoLecturer
Japanese Language
ytsuchiya@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2221
Xu, HangpingAssistant Professor
Modern Chinese Literature, Film/Media Studies, Comparative Literature, Literary Theory, Political Philosophy
hangping@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2223
By appointment only
Yamauchi, YokoLecturer
Program Coordinator
Japanese Language
yokoy@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2235
Yang, Mayfair -- Department Chair, Professor of EALCS & Religious Studies Departments
China: Chinese religions, modernity, environment, and the state, gender, media studies
yangm@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2222
Zheng, XiaoweiAssociate Professor
Modern Chinese History and Culture
zheng@history.ucsb.edu
HSSB 4231
Monday 3:30-4:30pm or By Appointment