Faculty

Cantrell, AkiyoLecturer
Japanese Language
cantrell@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Chen, Shu-ChuanLecturer
Chinese Language
bellachen@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2234
Fleming, WilliamAssistant Professor
Japanese Literature, Comparative Literature, Theater Studies
wfleming@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2224
Frühstück, SabineKoichi Takashima Chair in Japanese Cultural Studies
Professor of Modern Japanese Cultural Studies
fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2232
Guan, DaoxiongCoordinator of the Chinese Language Program
Chinese Language & Chinese Classical Literature
guan@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2241
Hsu, Chen-Chuan (Jennifer)Lecturer & Chinese Language Program Coordinator
Chinese Language
hsu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2225
Ikeuchi, Suma (池内須摩)Assistant Professor
Pronoun: she/her
Migration & Diaspora Studies, Anthropology, Religious Studies, Ethnic Diversity in Transnational Japan
sikeuchi@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2254
By appointment via email
Lee, WonaLecturer
Korean Language
wonalee@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2238
Wednesdays 12 -1:50pm
Li, XiaorongProfessor
Late Imperial (Ming-Qing) and Early Republican Chinese Literature
xiaorongli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2227
Mazanec, ThomasAssistant Professor
Medieval Chinese Literature, Comparative Literature, Digital Humanities, Translation
mazanec@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2255
Tues/Thurs, 10:00–11:30am, and by appointment
Onakado, MasakoLecturer
Japanese Language
onakado@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2221
T 10:30-11:30am & W 3:30-4:30pm
Pierce, KanaLecturer
Japanese Language
kpierce@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2236
Tues/Wed 2:30-3:30pm, and by appointment
Rambelli, FabioProfessor
International Shinto Foundation Chair in Shinto Studies
Japanese Religions and Intellectual History, Buddhism, Shinto, Semiotics
rambelli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2258
Saltzman-Li, KatherineAssociate Professor
Japanese Literature, Theater, and Comparative Literature
ksaltzli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2237
Wednesdays 2-4PM (or by appointment)
Steavu, DominicAssociate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies (EALCS)
Daoism and Chinese Buddhism
dsteavu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2253
Sturman, PeterChinese Painting and Calligraphy, Early to Modern; intersections of texts, theories, and imagessturman@arthistory.ucsb.edu
Tamura, YurikaLecturer
Cultural studies, art, ethics, and politics, gender and ethnic studies of Japan, media and film studies
tamuray@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2216
Wed 2-3pm and by Appointment
Tsai, BethVisiting Assistant Professor
Taiwan Cinema, Film Festivals, Transnational Film Theory
bethtsai@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2230
Wednesday 10 am - 12 pm (noon) & by appointment
Xu, HangpingAssistant Professor
Modern Chinese Literature, Film/Media Studies, Comparative Literature, Literary Theory, Political Philosophy
hangping@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2223
By appointment only
Yamauchi, YokoLecturer
Program Coordinator
Japanese Language
yokoy@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2235
Yang, Mayfair -- Department Chair, Professor of EALCS & Religious Studies Departments
China: Chinese religions, modernity, environment, and the state, gender, media studies
yangm@ucsb.edu
HSSB 2222
Yu, Hsiao-JungProfessor
Director, Optional Ph.D. Emphasis in Applied Linguistics
sharonyu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
HSSB 2239
Zheng, XiaoweiAssociate Professor
Modern Chinese History and Culture
zheng@history.ucsb.edu
HSSB 4231
By Appointment